M is for …

Movies …
I love everything about movies…going to the movie theater  with friends…watching a movie at home with my family while eating homemade popcorn…talking about movies and looking forward to movie releases…

However, there is one thing I hate in relation to movies and it is movies that are adaptations of a book. THEY JUST DON’T WORK!!!
I can’t think of any book turned into a movie that has done the book justice. mmmmm….no, none ….the books are always much much better…no doubt about it…
Take for instance ‘The help’.Quite a recent read of mine. The book was quite remarkable in my humble opinion. I don’t intend to give you a book review here simply because I’m rubbish at the art of book reviews. But allow me to tell you that I enjoyed the plot, the characters and the clever use of language and how the author was able to make me see a very specific time in history through the eyes of various characters and provoke many contrasting emotions throughout the book….Blah blah blah..you get what I mean 😉
Now take the movie ‘The help’ …Nothing like the book…Well not exactly nothing but it’s not as thought-provoking or as rich. And did I read somewhere that it won an Oscar?!! Whatever…
Now that the girls and myself are on a week-long break and the weather is not very summery we plan to watch at least a film a day. So far we have watched ‘The descendants’ and I must admit that it was a waste of a couple of hours. Ask me what it was all about and I might struggle to give you a coherent answer unless you accept a one word review in which case it has to be….’rubbish’.

This evening we watched ‘The woman in black’. I’m pretty sure that the book is at least one hundred times better. Or perhaps I’m just to hard to please…Whichever the case I have never ever been satisfied with a film which is a book adaptation.

What about you? Do you enjoy going to the movies? Do you like adaptations?

Salaams y hasta la vista,

Ines

6 thoughts on “M is for …”

  1. I read K-PAX, and I have to say the film version is a lot better than the book. That’s the only time that’s ever happened though. I remember being incredibly disappointed by the film version of Thank You for Smoking.

  2. Yeah I agree books are much better than their movies
    Take A Little Princess the book by far is the most amazing book I have ever read. A classic & favourite (sorry I didn’t include that in ‘you’ve been tagged’) But the movie is by far the worst let down in human history!

  3. Whenever I’ve really enjoyed a book, I find out if it’s been adapted for screen and yes, most of the time it’s a disappointment. I have to say though, that To Kill a Mockingbird was my no.1. The movie and the book were equally good but for different reasons.

    It always better to read the book first though.

  4. I know what you mean about the help. The book was much better. But I do like the bbc period drama adaptations, my fave being North and South!!! But maybe that’s because I haven’t read the book yet 🙂

Leave a Reply

