It takes a village…

when I first meet people and they ask me about homeschooling, their reactions fall into two main categories:those who think I’m a superwoman and those who think my daughters are missing out because I’m not an expert at everything they need to learn.

The thing is, I’m neither superwoman nor an expert at every subject/hobby they want to pursue but what I’m good at is spotting what my kids want or need and facilitating that learning.

Also, I’m a great believer in ‘it takes a whole village to raise a child’ and I’m not shy to ask those around me to help me out. I have great friends and they all have their own talents and abilities and they always amaze me…..

A while back dd14 expressed her desire to learn to sew and I begun to look into it. There were a few options out there for us but logistics were not on our side. Some venues were too far and others too expensive……until almost as if by magic a dear friend offered to do it here at home!!! Little did she realize she was going to be teaching three teenagers…and what a fine job she’s done….see for yourselves….

altAhHOfipHMdcywpHXC0lrqDu6jX5_ZQr1QfjKvWbSGwAA[1] altAnp2cpS6PvW9abQPIwgIQPzmdVtZGK9GHWDNwNunI0bi[1]

altAn28M2ifsZolrp3k-oNbtRTjMdF65ohtDC4UBiTz1GdE[1] altAgM_zdKaNBjflzZrTYMVrJ9ubYLTor02PaQR99DMYggw[1]

altAi5YryjzMRwc_vuQDoaJrIp_dgqnZXru1xEOAFmD6vmE[1]

 

Thank you God for amazing friends and amazing opportunities to learn….

Salaams y hasta la vista,

Ines

One thought on “It takes a village…”

Leave a comment